Lahore Qalandars win PSL8 opener against Multan Sultans


MULTAN – Lahore Qalandars have beaten Multan Sultans by 1 run to win the opening match of this year’s Pakistan Super League (PSL8) against title defenders at the Multan Cricket Stadium.

Title defenders Qalandars defended a 175-run total after Multan Sultans, the winners of the 2021 edition and the finalists of the last, won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Star batsman Mohammad Rizwan is leading the Multan side while the skipper of the Lahore Qalandars is Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Karachi, Lahore and Rawalpindi will also host the matches of the eighth edition of the PSL, which promises to be as exciting as the last seven.

All six franchises have won the PSL title at least once, which underscores the quality of all six sides and the higher level of competition in the tournament.

Islamabad United, the inaugural champions, are the only side to win the HBL PSL title twice (the second time in 2018). Peshawar Zalmi won the 2017 edition. Quetta Gladiators, who were the finalists in the first two editions, won the 2019 competition. Karachi Kings were the first side to win to lift the trophy at their home when they rolled over Lahore Qalandars in Karachi in 2020. Multan Sultans bagged their maiden title in 2021. Last year, Lahore Qalandars lifted the HBL PSL trophy in Lahore.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.